My thoughts and out loud thoughts on composition, performance, and many things musical.

2015 -My Year in Music

At the beginning of 2015, I moved to New York City to pursue music and live with two of my best friends. I discovered so much great music that has made a distinct impact on how I create and listen.

Here are my 2015 favorites.

1. Sarah K. Snider – Unremembered

This is a star casted, beautifully written piece of music, that I wish I had any part of. ANY part. Like I wish I brought Sarah coffee or something while she was writing this. ANY part. Sarah: please be my friend. Please?

This is probably my number 1 favorite album from 2015, and that’s putting up it’s dukes with the Punch Brothers The Phosphorescent Blues.

 

2. Punch Brothers – The Phosphorescent Blues

I listened to this with my roommates in their old apartment, where I lived for 2 weeks before we found a new place together. I’ll never forget our mutual reaction: “Holy shit.” The Punch Brothers are such a main source of musical inspiration for me.

 

3. Couloir – Wine Dark Sea

I met this cellist, Ariel Barnes, this summer in France. This cello & harp duo are amazing and this is such a great bit of music to listen to in the morning with coffee.

 

 

4. Missy Mazzoli – Vespers for a New Dark Age

This is dark, lovely, and makes me want to compose like her, and I took a lesson with her, and hopefully many more. She’s amazing. This was sort of an introduction-to-New York City type of soundtrack for me.

 

5. Chris Stapleton – Traveller

This man is huge with huge pipes. He can sing for days, beautifully, and writes beautiful, straight-to-the-point songs. Want to weep while being continually impressed? Listen to this album. On repeat.

 

6. Julian Lage & Chris Eldridge – Avalon

This is a 2014 album, but I just listened to it this year. It’s guitar prowess.

 

7. Punch Brothers – The Wireless

Two recordings of music in one year: amazing.

 

8. Miró Quartet – Transcendence

One of my favorite string quartets. Schubert’s String Quartet No 15 in G major, D 887. Just nailing it.


<p><a href=”https://vimeo.com/136394405″>Mir&oacute; Quartet: Transcendence Trailer</a> from <a href=”https://vimeo.com/miroquartet”>Mir&oacute; Quartet</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

 

9. Julian Lage – World’s Fair

Again, THIS is how you play guitar. He’s fantastic.

 

10. Ben Clark – Time and Miles Apart

My best friend.

 

11. Grant Gordy – (self titled album)

This is not a 2015 album, but it is for me. I took a lesson with this guy, and have seen him play live. His creativity and technical facility is effortless.

 

12. Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp A Butterfly

I sincerely believe he will be my favorite rapper of all time.

Leave a Reply

