My thoughts and out loud thoughts on composition, performance, and many things musical.

Other Peoples’

I’ve just put out a new EP – “Fake the Sunrise” and I guess it’s doing okay amongst my friends.  I’m just trying to book shows and make enough money to eat stuff other than Ramen. First-world problems…

I was in Canada the past days to see my grandpa off.  He was just a freaking hilarious old man who was still hitting on the nurses as they came in.

This song was for Grandpa – Other Peoples’

Born of October, between 66 years
We swam in the Eau, drinking other peoples’ beer
We put our waders on, when shit got too deep
And St. Peter was so strong, and Chatham went to sleep

Questions arise, of why we are here
“We’re here ’cause we love you.” 20 knots to shore my dear
“I feel there’s something wrong,” cried a man of 90 years.
“What have I forgotten? The fog has rose I will not steer.”

On a mariner’s boat, the waves rocked the bay
On waters of north, on waters of day.
And the Autumn leaves sang, “O Canada,”
And that old vessel, floated away.

There’s acceptance in death, there’s acceptance in time.
It never is our option, only forthcoming down the line.
Everything has an ending, and with each ending comes,
A brand new beginning, to sail a brand new shore.

On a mariner’s boat, the waves rocked the bay
On waters of north, on waters of day.
And the Autumn leaves sang, “O Canada,”
And that old vessel, floated away.

Leave a Reply

