My thoughts and out loud thoughts on composition, performance, and many things musical.

New Projects! New Ideas!

I have many new projects.

1. I am still in the process of arranging a bunch of Radiohead songs for brass quintet.  I’d like to get to playing them soon.

2. I am setting “The Three Billy Goats Gruff to Music.”  That’s right–the Norwegian children’s story. I am trying to make it detailed enough so that it’s not too musically-childish, but not so cutesie that it only appeals to kids, thus making it too easy to play (and that’s never fun…).  Kids stories are the most fun to set to music because the stories are so animated they lend themselves to fill-in-the-blank music writing.

3. I STILL need to get on the ball of finding some string players to play my string quintet with me.  I might end up asking a few people from the Hendrick’s Symphony Orchestra if they can work through it with me.  I want SOOO bad to perform it and record it!

4. The above goes also for “Where the Sidewalk Ends” that I’ve set to music.  That is a lot simpler, so it shouldn’t be difficult to get to playing.  Shel Silverstein is fantastic.

5. If time allows, I might drive up to Canada and stay in Grandpa’s trailer, by myself, for a week or so and just record a bunch of my music.  Dream vacation.

I realize that I probably will never be able to shake off the fact that I practice two different instruments intently–leaving me more hassle to be the highest level of proficiency I can be at either of them.  But I have been making a lot of progress on my orchestral trumpet playing–hopefully whatever gig the Army brings me here soon will be helpful for that.

Guitar, I now realize, as it will always be just as fun to play, serves as my piano; the standard composer uses the piano as his main tool–I use the guitar.  If I don’t play trumpet for a week, it’ll take two weeks to get back to where I was; If I don’t play guitar for a week, it’ll take an hour or two to get back to where I was.  It’s a different set of muscles.  I love the trumpet more for the challenge, and the awesome stuff that is written for it that is harder to make popular–I also love that challenge.

I’ve also started planning for places to have little concerts or recitals.  I’ve been looking at places to play outside for when it’s nice out.  Referencing to my thoughts about not limiting where performers perform to just stages, coffee shops, etc., here are some ideas: 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If anyone has an idea of something that really want to hear (specific topic, specific instrumentation, etc.) let me know and I’ll see if I can’t add that onto my list of things to do.

Leave a Reply

